month in review * june 2017

Hello hello, I’m still alive! Just a short update on how the past month went by for me. I actually have a bunch of posts already drafted and waiting, but I had to deal with certain stuff (i.e. existential crisis, chronic depression, and anxiety to name a few. Heh) so I never really got to publish them. I hardly even got to take photos for this post, too.

I think I’m more or less on the right track now, and to start with a bout of good news: I’ve already been cleared and am now fit to work! I terribly missed getting my monthly salary (and, hey, working for it, too).

Speaking of “certain stuff”, I managed to deal with said personal demons the only way I knew how: retail therapy. (My wallet hates me for it, though.) I bought mostly manga, plus albums of BTS and DAY6!!

I also met up with my good friend/anego Louise and claimed the rest of my Surugaya (aka second-hand heaven) haul and my Kono Oto Tomare! CD from her. Kono Oto Tomare! is an amazing manga, and I highly recommend it to anyone. I’ll be talking more about it once I put up my post about the CD, which was definitely worth the purchase!!

We had samgyupsal at Sing Sing Meat Shop for lunch. It was my first time ever trying out KBBQ and Php 350 for a full table’s worth of unlimited meat and side dishes was more than enough for me! We left the place stuffed, up until we spotted the gelato bar across the street when we remembered that there will always be room for dessert. It’s a very homey place called Southern Dairy, and I ordered a cup of Malted Milk gelato.

Finally, I was also able to try Cocio at the nearby bakery across the hospital after I was already cleared for work. It’s pretty pricey, but I’m glad I gave in and tried it. Still, it does taste like chocolate-flavored Cowhead milk, only in a fancy bottle.

On another hand, the local official server of Ragnarok Online opened recently, and while I did join in the CBT I suddenly had a patching error when OBT started. I’m actually thinking if it’s a good thing lmao because I have thought twice about reinstalling it. Although I did miss playing pRO very badly, I didn’t enjoy playing CBT as much as I’d hyped myself up for it. I spent years of my elementary and high school days playing it so the mere thought of getting to play again had me excited, but it still felt like something was missing… ah, well.

And to pass time (and ill thoughts), I’ve been watching a lot of Impractical Jokers lately, and it has helped tremendously in cheering myself up. I first discovered the show November last year when I was hospitalized and scanning TV channels, and stopped when I saw grown men daring each other to steal food off of other people’s plates. I got hooked instantly, and it’s still one of the most memorable challenges for me. I love this show so much that I binge-watch clips on YouTube for hours on end. I should really get to watching the actual episodes soon.

One thing I am proud of lately is how I was able to pick myself back up. Looking back, it’s kind of scary how I had gotten to the point where filling myself with continuous self-hatred had already become the norm. I was this close to going off the deep end, but recently I’ve been waking up on the right side of the bed and immersing myself with happy thoughts and surroundings which has helped a lot.

Here’s to more positivity and better days ahead!

Leave a comment